One More Hour

How many times do you lose minutes or hours or days? Always harried and tired trying to fit too many things into a limited space of time. Lying awake in bed, sometimes I think, if I just didn’t need sleep I would be okay, I might get everything done. This past week I took a class for an IT certification, it’s a mind dump of information and study. I came home exhausted every night, cooked dinner and then relaxed for a second before bed. On Wednesday we had a lot of errands to do, as I was cleaning the house I spied that the time was 9:30 p.m. Shortly after I sat down to read with a glass of wine for  a minute before going to bed. Rinse, wash, repeat. I sat for what seemed like a delicious break as the story rose to a frantic pace, and then my glass was empty. I resolved to go brush my teeth and get ready for bed. I glanced at the clock and the time was 8:45. I was stupefied, then I realized that the first time I checked the time was on the thermostat which we hadn’t changed for daylight savings. Holy mother of God! A grin broke out over my face and I let out a whoop, hugging myself with happiness!

I found a lost hour and I was so happy I felt like I won the lottery. What, you ask, did I do with this holy grail of time? I poured another glass of wine and curled up and read until my eyes crossed, and enjoyed every single minute of it.

I’m a reader and I get lost in fiction. I love it, it’s my escape, my hobby and a lifelong passion. I was myopic to the point of blindness pre-Lasik and I continue to subject my eyes to hour long sessions of type. After a staunch defense, I finally capitulated and requested a Nook for my birthday. It’s good, almost too good, and most books are at your fingertips. I still love the smell of the printed page and buy books worth owning, but now I can easily satisfy my cravings at the drop of a password. If I thought I had a problem with iTunes purchases I’m in for a bruising now. If you must know, I was reading The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. It’s a great trilogy, read it if you are looking for something engaging with a sly proto-feminist vibe (more on that later perhaps).

Anyway, I just wanted to share with you how much time really does matter and how one single hour changed my whole week. I felt better, happier and more satisfied. Carve out five minutes or an hour for yourself. Listen to an entire record, read a book, stop on your way home and get a cup of coffee, sit and be alone. Do what you want and feel indulgent, because, really, time is all that we have.

 

 

I couldn’t think of a more perfect song for this.

 

xoxo

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “One More Hour

Leave a Reply

