Creating new brain cells and a call for self-investment….

A simple proposition:

If I told you I had a magic pill that would give you all of these amazing benefits:

  • Increased energy
  • Better sleep
  • New brain cells
  • Increased happiness
  • Healthy stress relief
  • Better sex life
  • Increased strength and endurance
  • Look better naked
  • Live longer

…would you take it? Would you pay money for it? Well actually I’m not talking about a magic pill, I’m talking about exercise. Simple effing exercise. It can give you all of these things and more. It might help you meet new and interesting people, it might encourage you to take trips like yoga retreats or destination 5K races, it might even make you a better person but it will undoubtedly give you all the benefits above.

I usually don’t like to proselytize, but health and fitness is something I feel really strongly about. I’m not an extremist and I don’t care what kind of exercise you do but I strongly believe that investing in your body is REALLY IMPORTANT and it’s largely ignored in our society.

I save money, invest in a retirement fund, and plan for the future, why wouldn’t I do the same for my body? I know that most people get regular oil changes on their cars and maintenance work on their homes. There is a huge disconnect going on and we need to wake up…  people take better care of their things–of objects–than they do of themselves. You only get one body, one back, two knees, two arms, etc. and hopefully they will stay healthy and last as long as possible. Why not make sure they do? Invest in yourself and make changes that need to be made. I think of my body like a bank account and I’m constantly making withdrawals–moving furniture, carrying groceries, getting out of bed–so I need to make deposits too–exercise, good (real) food, and good sleep.

The dangers of alcoholism, drug addiction and tobacco use have been highly detailed in the media but what about the damaging physical and psychological effects of obesity and food addiction that we are just beginning to explore?

My next couple of blog posts will be playing around with the same theme.

I just want to jump-start life right now (mine and yours) and hopefully, maybe, get you to shake a tail-feather as spring starts to spring upon us….

 

Leave a Reply

