To sleep, perchance to dream…

…Aye, there’s the rub.

-Hamlet

Morpheus and Iris
by Pierre-Narcisse Guerin

I’ve been wondering lately if I have some natural sleep disorder. I’m not sick or depressed, but frequently I sleep for 12+ hours at a go.  I’ve been like this my whole life. I fell asleep on Friday night at 9:30 p.m and woke naturally at 8:20. I fell asleep last night at 11:00 p.m and woke this morning at 10:45.  Don’t judge me about my lack of a social life. M was terribly sick this weekend so I puttered around the house, read books and did laundry. I also forced him to drink copious amounts of hippie concoctions and use the neti pot.  This gave me a great opportunity to laze around and get lot’s of sleep.  During the week I can sleep anywhere from 5-8 hours and work and exercise just fine. On the weekends though my body requires me to pay back that sleep debt.

I’ve been doing some reading about sleep, mainly on wikipedia, and random health web sites. I notice that there is no hard and fast rule for the proper amount of sleep. Everyone is different. I just know that I love staying awake late into the night, and for all intents and purposes, sunrise looks better at the end of the night rather than at the beginning of the day. This leads me to believe that I have DSPS, or delayed sleep phase syndrome, it is characterized by staying awake late into the night and having trouble waking up at “normal” hours.  My circadian rhythm has always been just a bit later than “normal” which over the years has been proven again and again.  I guess I should have sought work in a more nocturnal job-field. I just can’t seem to get to bed before 11 p.m. and that is my week-night bed time. I’m jealous of people that can crawl in bed at 8:30 and get up every day at 5. It just isn’t for me.

 

Hawai'i

How much sleep do you get a night? How much sleep does your body need to be happy?

 

 

 

painting by  Pierre-Narcisse Guérin, Morpheus and Iris

Leave a Reply

